you're reading...
News and Info

Delaware Election Results!

Outcomes of the Delaware election are listed below. Most notably, President Pro Tempore Patricia Blevins was unseated by Republican Anthony Delcollo. Delcollo is an Associate Attorney with Cooch and Taylor in Wilmington, a member of Associated Builders and Contractors and Delaware Contractor’s Association, and is the Director of Delaware State Sportsman’s Association.

 A special session will take place in February or March to fill Bethany Hall Long’s Senate seat. With the Republican’s picking up a seat with Delcollo’s victory, this race will decide which party controls the State Senate.

 *These results are unofficial and need to be certified by the Department of Elections.


 U.S. Congress

Democrat Lisa Blunt Rochester easily defeated Republican Hans Reigle, Libertarian Scott Gesty, and Green Party candidate Mark Perri.

Blunt Rochester will be the first person of color and female to represent Delaware in Congress.



As predicted, Democrat John Carney defeated Republican State Senator Colin Bonini, Libertarian Scott Gesty, and Green Party candidate Andrew Groff.


 Lieutenant Governor

Democratic State Senator Bethany Hall-Long defeated challenger La Mar Gunn. Hall Long’s win opens up a competitive seat in the Senate, narrowly controlled by the Democrats. A special election is expected to take place in February or March.


 Insurance Commissioner

Democrat Trinidad Navarro defeated Republican Jeff Cragg in this open seat. Navarro defeated incumbent Karen Weldin Stewart in the primary election.


 Senate District 1 

Incumbent Harris McDowell defeated Republican James Spadola.


 Senate District 5

Republican incumbent Cathy Cloutier defeated challenger Denise Bowers.


 Senate District 7

President Pro Tempore Patricia Blevins was unseated by Republican Anthony Delcollo.


 Senate District 8

Democratic incumbent David Sokola defeated Republican Meredith Chapman in a close race.


 Senate District 14

Democratic incumbent Bruce Ennis defeated Republican Carl Pace.


 Senate District 20

Republican incumbent Gerald Hocker easily defeated challenger Perry Mitchell.


 Representative District 7

Democratic incumbent Bryon Short defeated Libertarian Robert Wilson.


 Representative District 9

Republican incumbent Kevin Hensley defeated Democrat Monique Jones.


 Representative District 10

Democratic incumbent Sean Matthews defeated Republican Judy Travis.


 Representative District 11

Republican incumbent Jeff Spiegelman defeated Democrat David Neilson.


 Representative District 14

Speaker of the House Pete Schwartzkopf easily won against Republican James DeMartino.


 Representative District 19

Incumbent Kim Williams defeated Republican challenger James Startzman.


 Representative District 20

Republican incumbent Steve Smyk defeated Republican Barbara Vaughan and Independent Don Ayotte.


 Representative District 21

Incumbent Mike Ramone easily defeated Green Party candidate David McCorquodale.


 Representative District 22

Republican incumbent Joe Miro defeated Green Party candidate Bernard August.


 Representative District 24 

Democratic incumbent Ed Osienski defeated challenger Timothy Conrad.


 Representative District 25 

Incumbent John Kowalko defeated Republican Michael Nagorski.


 Representative District 29

Democratic incumbent Trey Paradee defeated Republican Janice Gallagher and Green Party candidate Ruth James.


 Representative District 30

Republican incumbent Bobby Outten defeated Democrat Charles Groce.


 Representative District 31

Incumbent Sean Lynn defeated Republican Jean Dowding.


 Representative District 32

Democratic incumbent Andria Bennett defeated Republican challenger Patty Foltz.


 Representative District 33

Republican Charles Postles defeated Democrat Karen Williams. This was an open seat following the retirement and subsequent passing of Republican Jack Peterman.


 Representative District 34

Republican incumbent Lyndon Yearick defeated Democrat David Henderson.


 Representative District 35

Republican incumbent Dave Wilson easily defeated Democrat Gary Wolfe.


 Representative District 37

Republican incumbent Ruth Briggs King won over Democrat Paulette Rappa.


 Representative District 39

House Minority Leader Danny Short defeated Libertarian James Brittingham.


 Representative District 41

Republican incumbent Rich Collins defeated Democrat Brad Connor.


 New Castle County Executive

Democrat Matt Meyer defeated Republican Mark Blake.  Meyer defeated incumbent Tom Gordon in the primary election.


 Mayor of Wilmington

Democrat Mike Purzycki defeated Republican Robert Martin. Purzycki defeated incumbent Dennis Williams in the primary election.


 Sussex County Council District 3

Republican I.G. Burton defeated Democrat Leslie Ledogar in this open seat.

About HBA of Delaware

HBA/DE has been an integral part of the growth and economic development of the State of Delaware since 1947. HBA/DE was founded as a non-profit state affiliate of the National Association of Home Builders (NAHB) representing home builders and other businesses directly related to Delaware's Home Building Industry. Consisting of Builders, Remodelers and a group of diversified associate members, the Home Builders Association of Delaware strives to protect and preserve housing as a symbol of America.


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

back to HBADE Website


  • Comment Period for WOTUS Rule Withdrawal Extended August 22, 2017
    EPA and the Army Corps of Engineers are extending the comment period by 30 days for a proposed rule that will roll back the flawed 2015 “waters of the U.S.” (WOTUS) definition.
    NAHB Now
  • Association Excellence Awards Honor Innovative Membership Programs August 22, 2017
    This week we continue to recognize the winners of this year's Association Excellence Awards by focusing on the Membership pillar, which emphasizes effective recruitment and retention strategies, as well as other member-related programming.
    NAHB Now
  • NAHB Unveils New Stormwater Management Toolkit August 22, 2017
    The more complicated the rules become, the more information is needed to advocate for smart, flexible and cost-effective stormwater management. The brand-new NAHB stormwater toolkit has got you covered.
    NAHB Now
%d bloggers like this: